[Resolved]  ICICI Bank — Personal loan ( excess charges)

This refers to the personal loan ( loan no [protected]) that I had taken from ICICI bank in January 2007.
This personal loan of Rs 4.5 lacs was given to me on the basis of a credit card of ICICI that i hold ( Credit card no ; [protected])

The reason i am writing you is; I was told that i would need to pay an EMI of Rs 12, 750.00 per month for 48 months.
i have been paying an EMI of more than Rs 12, 800 every month ( last payment was made on January 22, 2009 for Rs 13, 670.00)
I had made two payments after last due date ( in 2007), for which i was charged Rs 500 as late fee charge. This charge i had disputed. But to my utter surprise, every month the rate of calculation is done on the entire amount plus Rs 500 and it has now got compounded to Rs 31, 000 outstanding.

I have written number of times to ICICI bank log in ( from the site www.icicibank.com)
But no one is taking this problem seriously. Technically the bank may be right in levying these charges. i have been making payments every month which are Rs 1000 more than the EMI. It seems so obviously unfair. For making two payments late the charges that have been calculated are running into Rs 18000 ( the latest statement i received states EMI Rs 12, 750 plus late payment and other charges which are in excess of Rs 18, 000).
No one from the bank is paying any attention.

I hope you take serious note of my request.

ICICI Bank — EXCESS CHARGES

Please find here with the complaints letter addressed to RBI, Kolkata, which is self explanetory. Please help me out from this fraud bank.

opjha

C V Goerge 06.12.2010
C/o Reserve Bank Of India,
15, Netaji Subhas Road,
Kolkata -01

Subject: Your letter no. BO ( Kol ) No. 5056/ 2008-09 dated 08.06.2009 (Case No. [protected]) against my complaints dated 17.03.2009 regarding excess charge by ICICI bank on my credit card.

[protected][protected][protected][protected][protected]

Kindly refer my complaints against ICICI bank as per flowing date wise with the banks as well as RBI;

1. My letter dated 17.03.2009 addressing Mr. CVGoerge, RBI
2. My e mail dated 13.04.2010, 15.04.2010, 21.04.2010, 27.04.2010.
3. My e mail dated 26.05.2010, 23.06.2010, 24.06.2010 to [protected]@rbi.co.in to RBI OMBUDSMAN- attached for further reference.
4. Your reply with the case no [protected] dated 08.06.2009- attached for any further reference.

This is in reference to the complaints made against the above said bank, this is to inform you that that bank is now withdrawing my money from that account without informing me at all. When I made complaints with you last time, they automatically refunded whole withdrawal money to my account by the fear of RBI on that time and I was assuming that everything got settled with your involvement with the issue.

This is to inform you that they have withdrawn Rs. 13,809.00 on date 13.04.2010, Rs. 15,624.37 on date 23.12.2009 and Rs. 1,383.00 on date 29.05.2010 from my two accounts in that bank and both accounts have been my salary account. In total they have withdrawn Rs. 30,816.94 without the knowledge of me and this is also against your verdict given on that case. This is also against the ethics of my banking system in India. They are withdrawing the money form my bank account so that in actual sense they are the owner of that account, not individual who keeps account with them. By knowingly they are keeping one’s account in negative so that if any money comes to that account, they simply get the money in the name of certain bogus claims.

In this pretext I have requested my employer ( M/s GAIL INDIA LIMITED) to change my salary account and they have responded very well on time other wise this bank would have taken away every paisse from my account. Like only they have very bad report among the people. I have communicated this instance to this bank to all my colleagues and they have faced such stories from the same bank. They are planning to switch over to some banks or in process of that. ICICI bank has very bad report among the people of this country as they are not transparent in their business. If some is caught like me in their net they will be finished like anything. But interestingly even they are not listening to any RBI OMBUDSMAN for any suggestion.

I have also requested them to close my accounts with them but they are not coming up to this point. One of my accounts with them is attached to demat / share account. I have some feeling that if you people don’t take any action against them, they will even take my shares also. In this case I am going to write a letter to SEBI also as a precautionary step.

Even if I have visited their office in Bhowanipur, Kolkata with all my details for solving the problem and also met Mr. Mritunjay Kumar there and submitted my whole communications with the bank and RBI. Before that also some Mr. Mukherjee[protected] understood the problem for some time but irony is that that person has been transferred to some another place. But after lapse of few months now they are once again trying to take money from my account without solving the actual problem. Some months back, Mr. Anil from Hyderabad office has also confirmed that why bank officials are behind me as I have made payments on time. The problem with the bank is that if someone understands the problem, some other person comes on the next week seeking whole drama to be repeated once more to him. This may be a well planned scheme for fooling the customers like me. In actual sense I want to solve that problem but nobody is willing to activate on that issue. They have standard e mail for the customers for creating these non sense activities.

I have earned some 20,000 reward points on that credit card but they have refused to give me those reward points reimbursement. I am requesting them since four / five years back. Today that may be valued to some Rs. 40,000.00 as at that time it was valued to some Rs. 20,000.00. I have lost those rewards points also and I should be reimbursed those points along with compensation like what they are claiming with their bogus claims.

I have made complaints with that bank officials on so many occasions but they are very reluctant on that issue as they have made themselves for fooling others only. They are not seeing their own faults and they have challenged that RBI will do nothing in any case.

Even now they are sending some person for collecting the money to my house and if they send next time I will get FIR lodge with the nearby police station. This is very serious crime they are going to have by sending some gunda elements of the society. Even if they have hired something like that and they are threatening me every now and then. They don’t have any sense to talk to the customers like us.

Sometimes I feel very disappointed that why I got their credit card and internal feeling is that I should consult a good lawyer for their abnormal demand of money, frequent threatening calls / visit to my residence and irrelevant talk on my mobile no.

So request is there for you to get my money back along with enhanced / compensated reward points and close my account with them so that in near future also I may not be trapped into their nets. That bank may be penalized for such incident to the individual by strict action from your end. For which I would be obliged for you forever.

Om Prakash Jha
Sr. Manager-Retail Mktg
GAIL INDIA LTD
CCPL Building, 4th floor,
Himayathnagar,
Telagu Academy Road,
Hyderabad-29

[protected]@yahoo.co.in
Dear Mr. Jha,

We are the Customer Service team at ICICI Bank. Maintaining good corporate governance practices and securing customer trust is important to us. We have made a note of your contact number. We will get in touch with you at the earliest.

ICICI Bank Customer Service Team.

ICICI Bank
    Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    65%
    ICICI Bank Phone
    +91 22 2653 1414
    ICICI Bank Address
    ICICI Bank Towers, Bandra-Kurla Complex, Mumbai, Maharashtra, India - 400051
    View all ICICI Bank contact information