HDFC Bank Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Dec 15, 2025
Complaints 32882

File a complaint to HDFC Bank

Having problems with HDFC Bank?

File a complaint and get it resolved by HDFC Bank customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

HDFC Bank reviews & complaints page 1445

priya sanil naik
Jun 16, 2014

Dear Sir/Madam, My account no. [protected], shows me multiple deduction of Rs.393 on 13/6/2014 as ASD.Please clarify me about this deductions from my account as their is not even a penny in my account now.It was my salary and I don't know how I can manage my expenses in this month.I would request you to please refund it.Hope you understand my problem and revert me as soon as possible. This is my contact number [protected]

Sachin Kumar
    Jun 14, 2014

I surrendered my policy no.10748349 on[protected] in Paschim Vihar branch but as of now the surrendered amount is not credited in my bank a/c. I visited two or three times in the Paschim Vihar branch but the same is not resolved, I met the relationship manager personally, but he always said that you surrendered the policy on[protected] morning and we sent the request to HQ but they are saying that NAV of[protected] will be given to customer and it is our internal issue. It was shocking and surprising that even after a lapse of two months you are not able to resolve your internal issue. I surrendered this policy even though I knew that market will go higher in future but I have to make payment to my builder who is continuously following up for payment. Now, he cancelled my unit and forfeited Rs. 2, 10, 000 (approx) due to non payment. (a) How will you justified this delay ??? (b) Who will bear the interest loss of two months ??? (c) Who will pay my forfeited amount ??? (d) Will I get the NAV of current date ??? (e) Will HDFC provide me house as my booked unit is now cancelled coz of this delay ??? I can't expect this type of delay even in government office, atleast you can file RTI there to expedite the case. But you people are so worst, un-ethical, unprofessional and un-customer friendly that even after a lapse of two months you are not bothered at all to sort out your internal issue and release the payment to customer. I know that after surrendering my policy I am no more an Asset for you and you will not get any business from me but this kind of act will definitely ruined your goodwill which is also an intangible asset. I hope you will take necessary action at the earliest and I will get the response pertains to point no. a to e above. Thanks, Sachin Kumar
    HDFC Life customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
    Dear Mr. Kumar,

We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.Your concern has been registered with the grievance team for investigation under Complaint number [protected]. We will revert to you with a resolution within 14 days.

Assuring you the best of our services always.

HDFC Life

san.reddevils
      Jun 14, 2014

My name is Santhosh A R and i hold an account in HDFC bank.
      I had visited your ATM No. S1ACBL26 at R T Nagar, Bangalore on 14/06/2014 at 9.11 pm to withdraw amount of Rs 400/-.
      I have HDFC's International Debit Card linked to the account number [protected] which i used to withdraw the amount mentioned.

On using this card on the above mentioned ATM machine, I was only issued 100 rupees instead of 400, And to my surprise, Rs 400/- was deducted from my account. I have contacted you once and have mentioned this problem before and would like you to kindly see the mentioned amount credited back to my account at the earliest.

Since your ATM machine is faulty please see that this machine is replaced by a new sufficient one to avoid inconvenience to the customer.

Santhosh

sanjaly66
        from Meerut, Uttar Pradesh
        Jun 14, 2014

HDFC Bank Credit Card Department, I received a call where HDFC Bank executive informed me about the card up-gradation, I allow to up-grade the card but the rewards points of my cards was deducted from my account without my concern. When I mailed your official they asked me to send the call recording of the conversation with a reply that the executive informed me about this deduction as per their internal record. However no body informed me about this deduction also I sent the recording but no resolution till now. Sanjay Kumar [protected]

karnik Mrudula
          Jun 13, 2014

Hi, Myself is Mrudula. I am resigned employee of HBL Global private limited, Personal Loan department, Andhery, J.B.Nagar, Mumbai under sales manager Sameer Joshi (S11996).I requested him for last 3 month salary slip but he did not give proper response. Please help me to get salary slip as early as possible. My employee code : M14538 Joining date 25th may, 2010 resign date: 23rd Nov, 2013 I hope you will help me in this situation. If any clarification required ten please mail me([protected]@yahoo.in). Thanks and regards, Mrudula

Cheryl Pinto
            Jun 13, 2014

An employee of HDFC bank (Santa Cruz) convinced me to close my previous Salary account as I have left the job and transfer all the funds by creating a new saving account.So I opened a new account and they said that the previous account will get closed in 1 week and all the funds will be transfered.But this was not the case.I had to go almost every week to ask them why the old account is not closed and I used to get same reply that "It will be done this week".Then at last I told them not to close the old account as I was really feedup visiting the bank every week so for that they said that the account is taking long time to close as there is FD linked to it so its giving an error.Then they again convinced me that it will be done on Monday or else they will call me and also i took their landline number as well.But there was no call on last Monday and when I tried to call them it was a wrong number.

Your urgent attention will highly be appreciated.Thanks!!
            Hie, I missed my mobile number :[protected] and my EmailID is mail2cheryl.[protected]@gmail.com

Sidgupta0306
              Jun 13, 2014

I was a very loyal and happy customer of HDFC Bank... Was offered loans etc at very good rates, I have two car loans from HDFC, due to certain unfortunate circumstances, my payment for one month got delayed. I started getting harrasment calls immediately from their collection department, and without even listening, the lady over the call started misbehaving. Thus, I stopped the payments for a month or so. The call centre head apologised n all, and since then, Was paying thru this route. Loan got completed in Feb2013, and since then the bank has not given the NOC, asking for the late payment charges etc... I got a final settlement letter of X amount in december 2013, I was told I can pay it in two parts as they just had 4days to close their accounts... I made part payment, and post that kept calling for other part, no one turnedup.. and in feb2014, I got to know that the part payment I made has been adjusted in my total outstanding. Now again, I keep getting calls, and the people are bunch of rude, one track minds, who just dont listen. If HDFC, doesnt resolve this at the earliest, I will be forced to go legal with all the recordings and proofs. Regards Siddharth [protected]@gmail.com

sannaryin
                Jun 13, 2014

HI This is Sankara Narayanan One Mr Palani of Your Bank Ex employee from sowcripet Branch (chennai) has been cheating many persons by using the name your bank showing the appointment letter and other things As i am in finance field i am so concern about the Bank Please take care of the issue His Phone no [protected] and [protected]
                Jun 13, 2014
                Updated by sannaryin
                He also misused the customer cheque and by sign forgery and cheated the person and also issuing the same cheque to other person .

Please take this on Priority basis.

This is Sankara Narayanan One Mr Palani Ex employee of your Bank (sowcarpet Chennai Branch) has been involving in many frauds and Cheating the customer

Still he using the name of Your bank by showing appointment letter and other documents

I am customer of your bank and also in to filed of finance so I am concern about banking activities

He was misused the customer cheque by forgery sign and submitted the same with bank for the payment of other person

His No [protected] and [protected]

Please take this priority basis to stop him from fraud and cheat o[censored]neducated customer

karnik Mrudula
                  Jun 13, 2014

HI, Myself Mrudula Karnik. I worked in HBL Global private Limited, Personal Loan Department, Andheri - J.B Nagar under sales Manager Sameer Joshi (S11996). I resigned on 23rd Nov, 2013. I want last 3 month salary slip. Employee code M14538 Date of joining May 25, 2010 Date of Leaving Nov 23, 2013 Email ID:[protected]@yahoo.in Kindly look this matter and revert me as early as possible because I want to submit it on 16/6/2014. Any kind of clarification required then you can contact me on my cell no. ([protected]). Waiting for your positive reply as soon... Thanks and Regards, Mrudula

rinkudelhi2000
                    Jun 11, 2014

Dear all This is to bring in your notice and to take action that a Life Insurance Policy of HDFC life is sold to me with fake commitments and with doing material alteration in the information provided by me in the policy forms through forged signature of mine.Policy Details are: Policy no. 16153603 Client Id. 62042998 Policy Holder Piyush Gupta Date issue 9th July 2013 Below are the images of both forged signature for your reference. You can also check the complete scan in the attachment. Image No.1 (Page No. C2) Image No.2 (Page No. C2) The whole story is that I have received a call from Ms.Seema from mobile no.[protected] in the month of July last year. She inquired me that if I had suffered by any loss in any of the life insurance policy of any company. I told her that yes, I had a policy of Aviva Life Insurance in the name of my father, in which I had to bear a loss of Forty Thousands Rupees Approx. at the time of surrender. She said, sir IRDA have take an initiative that if anyone who has suffered by that type of loss by any insurance company, we will refund the amount of that loss after a period of nine months, but the only condition is that you have to take a life insurance policy from us of at least three Years PPT. You will receive all the related documents containing the information like the committed amount of refund, the date of refund (that would be of after nine months date as per her) etc. after taking the policy. In good faith of that much big and reputed brand name like HDFC in the finance industry I got agree for that and told her to proceed further. She send me a person to collect all the required documents and a cheque of Rupees Fifteen Thousand Only. I filled all my personal details along with the period of the policy that was three years and a cheque fav. HDFC Life Insurance, but when I received the policy documents I found that there was a alteration in the policy documents on the Page no.C2 (left hand top corner) in the column of Term (Years) of the policy. In which the term was changed from three years to ten years and on this alteration there was a forged signature of mine at two places on the same page highlighted in the image above. Immediately I called Ms.Seema and informed her about the same. She asked me to give some time and after few days when she didn’t call me I called her back and she accepted that, there was a forged signature but also request me not complaint for the same because this is a question of my job. She gave me a solution that she will issue me a letter of cancellation of this policy and we will issue a new policy in place of this in which the PPT will be of three years only. But after that most of the times she does not pick my call, and if she picks my call she always give me different excuses like I am out of the station or the concerned signatory is not available give me some more time, But till now I have neither received her call back till then nor any letter/document in this regard. I have received her last SMS on 28th Nov 2013 that “I am sorry that I am unable to respond ur call as I am out station. Kindly give me this week to return and then I would get back to you on my own. I am Sorry for the inconvenience caused.” I request you to please take this matter on priority and take the appropriate action and give me a satisfactory resolution.

We have noted your concerns and our team will contact you shortly.

HDFC Life
                    Dear Mr. Gupta,

We have accepted the case as a missale and your refund is in process .Let us assure you
                    that what happened in your case is not typical of HDFC Life’s level of
                    commitment. We continue to be committed to providing you and all our customers
                    the highest levels of service in the industry.

HDFC Life

surbhi b
                      Jun 11, 2014

Sir, I am "Surbhi Babbar" and I recently opened an account with HDFC bank A/C Number [protected] on 3rd May 2014. Few days later on 16th May 2014, I received a letter stating that bank has placed Rs. 35, 238.64 as “Hold on Funds” against an old credit card [protected] without any prior information. The same amount of 35, 238.64 was deducted from my account on 21/05/2014 without any consent of mine. I went to the branch and they said credit card division is different entity. After many request they asked to raise a complaint. I raised the complaint on 17th May 2014 but till today complaint no P14721/14-15/0001 has no updates. I had the above credit card in Nov 2010, and after my marriage in Nov 2010, I moved to United States immediately. I would also like to share here that I was a victim of a troubled marriage and suffered harassment from my husband and in-laws to an extent that they withdrew all my savings money also and till today court cases are running. I returned back to India in Jan 2014 and I still do not have a job. I borrowed some money from my father and opened a new account in HDFC bank on 3rd May 2014 with A/C Number [protected] thinking to do some saving for my uncertain life ahead. But this is shocking to me that HDFC has withdrawn 35, 238.64 out of the 50, 000 that I deposited. I went back and checked my credit card balance of [protected]. It was only Rs 13, 712.02 on Dec 2010 when I left India. Even with the small money that I have in my account, I am ready to settle the amount, but to pay 3 times the amount is not acceptable to me keeping my current financial status in view. I request you to take appropriate actions against this huge money withdrawn as this is an additional suffering for me. I am already a victim of mental harassment in my personal married life which is causing huge suffering to me. I mailed & talked to HDFC bank so many times and tried to convince them of my current status and readiness to negotiate a reasonable amount but I did not get a positive response. Now at last after getting frustrated and depressed, I am challenging HDFC bank for this irresponsible activity. As being the customer of HDFC bank and an "Indian National", I demand HDFC bank to return my saving account money into my HDFC Bank account and I am ready to negotiate on a reasonable amount for my credit card settlement. Hoping for a quick resolution to my problem stated above as I am in urgent need of my savings account money. My details are as below: Name: Surbhi Babbar HDFC Credit Card No : [protected] HDFC Bank Account No: [protected] Email Address:[protected]@gmail.com

rathodyogesh
                        Jun 5, 2014

I name is Yogesh rathod. I have been holding a HDFC credit card which was given to me on taking HDFC car loan in 2010. Due to some family problem in 2011 I had used the credit card & withdrawn some amt.My credit limit was 30000.00. As I had use the card to some extend. So from the next month i.e from 2011 I started paying some amt. or more than min. balance. But even after paying at least some amt the outstanding today is 50000.00. From 2012 I have not received my credit card statement. I do not know how much different types of charges have been imposed till today. I even do not know how much amt is paid my me. NO a/c statement have been given to me from 2012. Their recovery person calls me up & I pay the amt. said. I have also requested many times for settlement for this card but no action is taken. Sir as per my calculation they have charged more than 25000 to 30000 as late fee & other charges. I would request the consumer forum to help me out & direct the bank to do some type of settlement. I credit card companies are looting the common man by charging various charges. Sir my credit limit was 30000.00 & even after paying some amt ( more than 1000.00 per month) the outstanding after two years is gone to 50000.00.

nagaraju alampati
                          Jun 5, 2014

Address: Gautam Buddh Nagar, Uttar Pradesh

28.09 * 2=56.18/- deducted from my salary account of HDFC BANK twice on 03-June-2014. With out any prior information amount got deducted. I don't why it got deducted. My account no is [protected] . My account name is Nagaraju Alampati. Date: 03 Jun 2014, Narration: NWD DECCHG 17-05-14 CARDEND[protected], Cheque/Ref. No: 2564 & 2565. So please help me on this issue and revert back my amount...
                          Write to customer care "via email" asking explanation for it.

sikhagoenka
                            Jun 5, 2014

I hold a HDFC Bank credit card. As of 4th Jun14 my total outstanding on HDFC bank credit card is approx 41k. Of which 15K is amount charged due on account of various fees and charges.
                            The Bank has blocked my HDFC bank savings account for amount of 40k without any intimation.
                            The last minimum payment due was made on 26th Mar14 post which due to Bank not providing details on account settlement I did not make any payment against my credit card.

When I inquired at the Credit card department about the delinquency status, they said that if the customer is within 3-4 delinquency bucket they can block the collateral securities or any of its form in case of non payment.

ISSUE1- WHAT IS THE EXACT DELINQUENCY BUCKET TO SUSPEND A CREDIT CARD OR BLOCK SAVINGS ACCOUNT in case of non payment?

THE CREDIT CARD DEPARTMENT IS NOT EVEN ALLOWING THE CUSTOMER TO GO CURRENT OR ACTIVE POST BLOCKING AND DEBITING THE OVERALL OUTSTANDING AMOUNT.

I am still in 2nd delinquency bucket as the due date is 9th of every month.
                            I am ready to make a settlement by making equal installments for the outstanding amount and hereby ask the bank to release the block order on my savings account.

I need clear guidelines from the BANKING AUTHORITY regarding the dates from which they get the authority to cease customer savings account without any intimation.

The staff at HDFC Bank Collection department and customer care units are extremely inefficient and non responsive.

ANKIT GOENKA
                            [protected]/ [protected]
                            BANGALORE, INDIA

POONAM JHA
                              from Barh, Bihar
                              Jun 5, 2014

Address: Begusarai, Bihar

Dear sir, kindly send a detailed statement of A/C of my policy no[protected]Muzaffarpur-orient club, Please also note that inspite of several reminder on personal basis and telephonic interaction with your representative I have not yet in receipt of the Policy document for the above mentioned policy. Hope that you consider this matter with priority as I have deposited the requisite cash and documents for the issue of duplicate policy document Thanking you POONAM JHA C/O DR ASHOK KUMAR JHA, MODU-LAB near Kaliasthan, Begusarai-851101
                              kindly send a detailed statement of A/C of my policy no[protected]Muzaffarpur-orient club,
                              Please also note that inspite of several reminder on personal basis and telephonic interaction with your representative I have not yet in receipt of the Policy document for the above mentioned policy.
                              Hope that you consider this matter with priority as I have deposited the requisite cash and documents for the issue of duplicate policy document
                              POONAM JHA C/O DR ASHOK KUMAR JHA, MODU-LAB near Kaliasthan, Begusarai-851101
                              Dear Mr. Jha,

We have noted your concerns and our team will contact you shortly.Thank you.

HDFC Life
                              Dear Mrs. Poonam,

We have tried contacting you multiple times on your number, however we are unable to reach you. Request you to provide alternate contact number for us to contact you or request you to contact on our helpline number[protected]Local Charges Applicable).

HDFC Life

JeromeD
                                Jun 4, 2014

Having received promotional emails from HDFC bank I emailed the bank asking why I am being sent promotional emails. I received a reply saying 'By default all customers are subscribed to promotional emails' I asked the bank to show me where on their website or any where in their terms and conditions or in any paper that I have signed does it say that by default all customers are subscribed to promotional emails? The bank has given me all sorts of replies asking for phone numbers, last four digits of credit/debit card, etc but has not answered the question. I have been escalated to two higher departments. I have continued asking the same question where does it say 'by default all customers are subscribed to promotional emails' but there has been no direct reply to this question but misleading answers to questions I have not asked. Finally I have been referred to the banking ombudsman. I just want the bank to show me where does it say 'By default all customers are subscribed to promotional emails' because if there is no such thing then HDFC bank can be said to be spamming their customers.

Sandeep1.mittal
                                  Jun 4, 2014

Hi, I am Sandeep Mittal, currently residing in Kolkata. I have a Salary a/c with HDFC Bank. This complaint is regarding a fraud transaction of Rs.10, 000 made in ATM and an already logged complaint in HDFC bank for which I am not getting any proper response. Date: 10-May-2014 I have visited ICICI ATM near Ultadanga station to withdraw some amount using my HDFC debit card. There were two ATM machine and no security guard was present at that time. I have inserted my card in one of the machine and after entering the PIN the ATM was hanged and was not working. I have pressed ‘Cancel’ button around 4-5 times and made the transaction from another machine of Rs. 2, 000. There was no one present in that counter while I was making the withdrawal. Date: 13-May-2014 When I was checking the statement in net banking, there was a debit transaction showing of Rs.10, 000 on 10th May just after 1-2 min I had made the transaction of Rs.2, 000. Immediately I had registered a complaint calling[protected]. They have provided me a complaint number and ask me to wait for 7 working days to get the amount credited to my a/c. Today is 04-Jun-2014 In the period of last 22 days, I have called HDFC customer care many times to get the update on my complaint, but all the time they are just saying the current status is ‘In process’ and I will get a call from the HDFC complaint team for the update, they are also not providing me the contact details of my home branch, they are rather interested in selling their additional services like: Loan, RD, Bill payment registration etc.. Above is the situation till now, and below is my complaint: > Why it is taking so longer when it has to be resolved in 7 working days. > Till now I have not received any update from HDFC BANK, not a single call. > HDFC customer care associates are more interested in giving you their additional services (as I detailed above) rather than looking at your grievances. They should know why you have called them and what they are providing. > I am in Kolkata, but my HDFC home branch in Chennai, and I cannot visit any near branch for this complaint, they are also not providing me the contact of my home branch. This is really becoming a frustration for me. I really don’t know how to handle. Please help me to get my money back, or let me know any process that can help me to get this sorted out. Name: Sandeep Mittal A/c No.: *********2562 Branch: R.K.SALAI, CHENNAI, IFSC Code: HDFC0001097 My current address : Khestopur, Kolkata, 700102 Complaint No: MUMC[protected] and 763898

debu1976
                                    from Shillong, Meghalaya
                                    Jun 4, 2014

Address: East Khasi Hills, Meghalaya

i am holding master world credit card of hdfc bank, today 4th june 2014 at 4.21 pm i received a call from phone no [protected] of HDFC bank. The representative is telling me i have pay fees this card as i know that this is no charges for it as i am holding it from last 6 years. he is telling that Rs.6100/- has been block for accidental insurance of 15, 00, 000 . as i have not opted for this kind of service, there charges should be debited for accident card. he is asking whether i have received card or not, i have mentioned that i do not require any service. The representative is putting pressure me to take this service. Last time also one person call from this no and want to give some card forcfully. I has been observed that i all the get lot of mis information from [protected] of HDFC bank . I is the request to bank tell them not to call in my mobile no for giving wrong information . If the your cell is incapable to take necessary action, i will go to concerned authority and camplain about it.

ramkoleti
                                      Jun 4, 2014

AMB Charges Debited by HDFC Bank I was having a salary account with HDFC Bank it is a zero balance account. for long time I have not used my account for salary or any other transaction's. Since it is zero balance I kept the account like that and of course maintained balance about 8ooo + But when i check my account now, My account balance is showing "zero" and all the balance has been debited by bank with comment "AMB CESS HRG INCL ST & CESS" multiple times without any prior intimation or alert. I have never been communicated via Email or SMS for any such charges they introduced. If they can send promotional emails and SMS to their customers then why can't they send an alert about a new charges they impose; so that customer can maintain the balance before it goes below the required amount. Kindly process the refund for both these debit transactions otherwise I have to CLOSE my account with HDFC Bank forever. |

kartikeya rai
                                        Jun 3, 2014

Fraudulent auction of gold ornaments pledged with HDFC for gold loan

Address: Varanasi, Uttar Pradesh

I am writing this article to bring to your notice the unfair auction of the gold jewellery pledged by me. We had taken a gold loan for Rs 996500 (G.L. Index No.- 565601, Loan A/c No.- [protected]R10001) on 26/4/12 through HDFC Maidagin road Branch, Varanasi. we had been paying interest in between and we had also reduced the loan principal amount to Rs 796500 by paying Rs 200000 as margin money upfront on 30/7/13 and paid advance...
                                        10 other people found this review helpful
                                        10 found this helpful