[Resolved]  ALEgION Insurance Broking Ltd — Mobile theft insurance

I had purchased a Cell phone in Oct 2009 from Universal. When I purchased, they told me about the mobile damage/theft insurance , I paid additional 450+ as the premium of the New phone.

Unfortunatelly, I lost the phone in bus stand. I tried to trace it but could not find it. I filed a compliant with Police and latter went to Univercel for claiming the Insurance.
I filled in a Form and attach all the docs like purchase recipt, police compliant copy, Non tracable copy etc... in ORIGINAL and send it to ALEgION Insurance Broking Ltd in Chennai. So, I had no choice than to send it to them through a corrier. After attaching all the documents I got back the mail from the Insurance comp twice asking for more info insufficiany of documents. They had given some phone numbers to contant which rings for ever and no one answers. however, I do get a engage/busy message at some time for these numbers but they never pick up my calls.....

This ALEgION Insurance Broking Ltd is just making money form the customers but not responding nor issuing the insurance.

Please kindly let me know what needs to be done.

89 Comments

Dear Mr. Surfudeen,

This is with regard to the Mobile Insurance claim against mobile theft.

I had bought a Nokia mobile from Univercell, Bangalore in the month of February'09.

Unfortunately I lost my mobile on 11th August'09. I had claimed for the same by collecting the claim form from univercell.

In the month of September'09 I got my application back stating that 'Missing/Loss' of mobile will not be considered.

I approached Univercell store manager and he asked me to be more precise and mention clearly in the claim form. As a Customer I was not aware of all such hidden points behind the claim procedure.

I rephrased the details accordingly and mailed the forms to Alegion Broking Co in the month of Oct'09.

Few weeks later, I got my application back stating that NTC and FIR from the Police is reuired to process the claim further.

I did get the required documents accordingly and sent the form again and mailed the documents back to Alegion in the month of November.

Now, in April'10 i got my application back stating that claim is rejected as I had mentioned 'Misplaced' in the earlier form.

I was trying various numbers since last few weeks and I am not able to contact any person and clarify this issue.

In fact, the FIR, and NTC and also the claim for clearly states that the mobile is 'Stolen' from the particular place.

When I had a chance to speak to a Person ([protected]) on 4th may'10 and explain the situation, he was surprisingly beind rude to me and was challenging me to take this issue to the court.

I have kept a copy of all the document that were submitted during all this process. You may ask for when required. I being patient and polite after going through this, would like to have a word with you before taking any step further.

Please suggest.

Karthik
Bangalore
Hi, I am Akshay and i had purchased a cell phone from Univercell(unfortunately) in Bangalore, Tata Silk Farm branch and i lost it. I had submitted the relevant docs for the claim and though it has been 80 days, they are yet to process it. Repeated calls to the insurance company heeded no reply. Please help me.
Any one who lost his/her mobile phone and made a claim to Alegion insurance broker and declined/rejected by the insurance company/broker, may approach me. I can assist them in whatever possible way to get the claim settled. I am one of the victim of these companies. However, I put these companies, particularly, Mr Surfudeen of Alegion Insurance Broking, who is the main culprit in this game, to kneel down and settle my claim. I may be contacted through email: [protected]@hotmail.com or over my mobile ph: [protected]
Pls note that we are only an Insurance Broker and not an Insurance Company. The sole authority for settlement of claims is the respective Insurer only. We are not authorised to process / scrutinize any Insurance Claim. We only facilitates in transmission of claim papers from the Insured Mobile Buyer from Univercell to the Insurance Company. We reconvey all communications from the Insurance Company to the Insured, if the insurer communicates through us. In many of the cases, the communication is directly from the Insurer to the Insured. This is a well known fact and there is no possibility of our cheating any Insured at any point of time. We sincerely hope that we have clarified the issue. For further clarification and clarity to know the difference between the Insurer, Insured and Intermediary (Broker/Agent), the IRDA site www.irda.gov.in may be visited and referred for an in-depth knowledge.
Hi Sreedhar,

Am in the first stage now of your two stages (1st stage - 45 days and 2nd stage - 75 days). I do submitted my insurance documents to Alegion insurance Ltd Chennai.
When they said that insurance processing takes 45 days, i was happy that at last i was going to get my insured money back. But now, after seeing your post, dam am really feeling bad about the Alegion Insurance ltd company.

First of all, people should blame Universal Mobile Showroom for doing all this weird stuff to its customers.
No one asks for mobile insurance at the time of purchasing a mobile phone.

Alegion Insurance really shouldn't take the blame but they should respond to the customers properly by atleast picking up the calls and providing answers.

Oriental Insurance company Ltd, coimbatore is the one which receives all the docs from Alegion and its in its hand to accept or reject the insurance claims. Since its in shadow, people think Alegion is the culprit and blame it.

Thank You
Am also a victim

This is Kalluru. Chandu Babu, S/o K.Masthan Babu resident of 16/3/393, Ramalinga puram, Muthyala Palem, nellore.

Iam here to giving report that on 24/07/2010, I lost my mobile NOKIA 5800 Express Music with IME Number:[protected] Sim no:[protected] (Airtel)on the same day about 6-30 am, I am going Vegetable Market for buying vegetables and complete my shopping, when i was coming outside the market mean wile the mobile cell phone was missed.
My E-Mail: Chandu143.[protected]@gmail.com

Thanking you Sir

Yours Sincerely.
K.Chandu babu
am asif from Bangalore have the same story like u people. even i have lost my phone while traveling by bus & have dispatched all the original documents to the Alegion company... but those lazy people are not interested to speak to the broken hearts. not responding the callls. what shld we all say to them, have plenty of words... at least they can receive the call... after days of calling luckily one lady picked up the call that to talking in dis manner. some how i got my complaint no 2111.. but she told me that the proccess will take 6months... my GOD... so...

[protected]@yahoo.co.in
Hi This is G.sravan kumar, mobile no is [protected] .i had purchased a Cell phone in dec 2009 from Universal, chaitanyapuri, hyd . When I purchased, they told me about the mobile damage/theft insurance, I paid additional 450+ as the premium of the New phone.

Unfortunatelly, I lost the phone in the crowded bus i was travelling. I filed a compliant with Police and latter went to Univercel for claiming the Insurance.I filled in a Form and attach all the docs like purchase recipt, police compliant copy, Non tracable copy etc... in ORIGINAL and send it to ALEgION Insurance Broking Ltd in Chennai. After attaching all the documents I got back the messagel from the Insurance company saying they have received the docs. They had given some phone numbers to contact. When i contacted them they said it will take 45 days, then again i called and they replied 75 days. Now i followed up for the insurance after successful completion of 75 days. However, I do get engage/busy message at some time for my follow ups. They never pick up my calls...please help me ..
Dear Sravan,

When you have lost your Mobile? When did you submitted the Claim documents to ALEgION Insurance Broking Limited? What does it mean that the Number is busy/engage?

B.Surfudeen
ALEgION Insurance Broking Limited
Dear Asif,

When did you submitted your claim documents to ALEgION Insurance Broking Limited?

There are also other ways to reach us if our Contact nos are busy. You may reach us by sending SMS & emailing your details to get update on the status of your Mobile Claim Request.

B.Surfuideen

My mobile has thefted on 5/6/2010. but still theris no response from ALEGION Insurance what the hell is going on ru thinking keeping comments in this do u look funny plz understand the customers problems and rectify it ASAP otherwise no use of doing tis plz people should aware of this private General insurance companies are doing
hi
iam pucshed a mobile phone from unvrsal cell... i have send all my doucments to alegion insuarance adress... but they are not giving such response to us... wat the hell is going with alegion insurance do u think the custmers are looking jokers... kindly resopne to custmers.
Hi Mr. Unknown / rkjsdakq,

First come to light, Who are you? What is your name? What is your issue? Why are you facing the issue? Why don't you mention you name in this forum? I think you are using forum in a wrong way. DON’T DO THIS. It will lead others in wrong way as like you.

While using public forum, you are supposed to mention your name and proper details of your issue and also disclose the fullest necessary details. So that only your issue will be judged in proper manner.

If you are not providing necessary details, how could your problem will get solved. Also how we believe that your complaints against Alegion company are genuine. Because in forum itself you are neither disclosing your name nor your full history of the complaints.

Also please keep in mind, quiet common no insurance claim has settled without proper documents as they prescribed.

You have nothing disclosed properly, but you are shouting others as you wish.

--
Krishna

ALEgION Insurance Broking Limited — No response on insurance claim

I have applied for the insurance claim for my mobile insurance on 07/05/2010. I haven't recieved any response till date. I tried to call them but all the phones are either switched off or not working.
sir this is venkata chary i lost my SAMSUNG (C 5215)mobile
i submited total documents
originol EMI form, police complaint, sim and Univercell form
today i received same
pl send me any
[protected]@yahoo.co.in
i complitely in agreement with the grievence of the consumers and the company which has colected the premium disclaiming their obligation to reimberse the insured amount to the insured on one pretext or the other by repudiating the calim under disguised conditions which invariably not disclosed to the insured and cheating the public at large. i believe that all the consumers should form an association and complain about untrade practice before the consumer disputres redressal forum at appropriate place and seek conpensation form the company and also take steps under law to get the company black listed
Hi All, I am one of the victim to the above Insurance company. I have sent original documents whatever they asked 4 months back, but there is no response from the insurance company. I have called lot of times, but in no use. We should move this case to Consumer Court against the Insurance company. If any one come across the solution, please let me know to proceed. Waiting for your response.
Sathyanarayanan K
yes i do agree with him...
i purchased a mobile in univercell kphb hyderbad and insured it.i lost my mobile and applied for insurance .after 2and half months on 22october i got a message that ur insurance is claimed and sent to ur address but i ddint get it .please send the status .of it.
my details are
anil koneru
mobile imei no is [protected]
my address is
3--14/1 rm no:201
bagh ameer
kukatpally
hyderabad-72

I have received a message through my mobile saying that the my Mobile Insurance claim note has been dispatched on 20th Nov. 2010. But so far it has not been delivered to my Residential address as given in the claim form.

But as per the telephonic information I was able to get the Docket Number of the courier after 10 days. The Docket No. is MAA[protected] dtd. 20/11/2010. But till today I have not yet been delivered. But with a detailed clarification with the Professional Courier distribution Center I was to that the it has been sent back to Chennai undelivered. I do not understand why it was not delivered to the address mentioned in the claim form.as detailed below:
T.Rangaswmy
# 141/1, HIG-A, 3rd Floor, Building No.1, K.H.B. Shirke Aprtment,
Kengeri Upanagara, Bengaluru-560060.
Mobile No.[protected].

ALEgION Insurance Broking Ltd

New Member Registration

The following information is hidden from other customers and is only visible to representatives of the company you are complaining about. This step is optional and can be skipped below.

New Member Registration

Already a Consumer Complaints member? Log in now
    •            
      or

New Member Registration

A confirmation email was sent to "".
    To confirm your account, please click the link in the message.

If you don't see the email in your Inbox, please check your Spam box.

User Login

Not a member of Consumer Complaints? Register now.
    •            
      or
    Loading, please wait...

Your password has been sent to the specified email address. Log in

User Facebook Login

GDPR