Karnataka State

Email: Rajagopalan.[protected]@accenture.com

Subscription Account Number: 07/322749

Date of Subscription: 10th March 2009

Length of Subscription: 2 Years

Amount paid for the subscription: INR.3250.00

Receiver ID: [protected]

It is agonizing to leave Indian market without any info about service disruption. As this is a pure deficiency of service from your part, you need to compensate for our difficulty caused to us. Please inform us ASAP.

110 Comments

World space has taken a renewal of 2 years subscription on 12-DECEMBER-2009 (FROM Jan, 2010 to Mar-2012) - and then on 29-DEC-2009 they sent a mail from 31-Dec-2009 that they will stop all braodcasting.
They are not giving the refund of 3600/- which they took as subscription for Jan, 2010 to Mar, 2012 also.
This is cheating - within 2 weeks they are stopping bradcast - after encashing the renewal fees.

Need the money back from them ASAP.
Yes, I feel cheated too. My subscription is upto March 2010. Difficult to trust them. Would they have done this to their customers in the US ?
My subscription is upto July 2011. I did not receive any mail from them on closing. They are not available on their customer care no. I renewed my mother's subscription in September 2009.

The funny part is that they were after us for renewing. Their collection agent had called up several times asking us to renew. I think they decide to collect as much money as possible before making the announcement.
I too feel to be cheated, as my renewal also got wasted. Today when I switched on my set, found TDM gone. Now what will I do with the instrument ? My subscription was till November 2010.
As per the Economic Times report, there are around 4.5 Lakh WorldSpace radio paid subscribers in India who may have paid for subscription beyond December 30th, 2009. This is a big scam involving tens of crores of rupees in customer subscription money alone!

I hope the union government steps in to protect Indian customers and takes swift and appropriate punitive action against Worldspace.
I have paid upto July 2010 and the program disappeared today. They did not notify me about discontinuance of the airing. I sent several Emails to WS and they did not care to respond. I think we should contact the Consumer Court.
It is extremely unethical and unprofessional on the part of the Company to take renewals and enroll members in India even when they were well aware that their financial condition was precarious and the Indian operations too were on the verge of closure. This is indeed a massive fraud that has been perpetrated on the consumers, who should get together, form a forum, and file a case in the consumer courts, etc. The Company has simply cheated its customers and should not be allowed to get away scot free !
The company has deceived us by not informing the correct position about the company's financial status and also by collecting advance payment upto October 2010
This is indeed a big fraud, since they very well knew about the financial status of the company, still they wanted to collect the money. Now all the people know about this, the action is needed on urgent basis.

We need to come together and get this people to task. Some of the subscribers must be from legal profession, they should come forward and chalk out the strategy to get the refund, not just the refund but also the cost of equipment, since the equipment will be useless now. So the refund has to be on that part as well.

I can be contacted on [protected]@yahoo.com

I request all the subscribers to come forward and join hands so that we can take some concrete action on this.
I too have been cheated. I just bought three new sets with one year subscription each. I welcome any joint action on this matter.
I feel this is official way of cheating, and i want my money back, broadcasting ministry should intervene and do some thing to refund money to subscribers
I have renewed for 2 years and my father has also renewed for another two years. It is planned fraud.
I had gifted a world space receiver with two years subscription through their call center on December 13th -at that time they did not bother to inform me that the service would be stopped on December 31st.
Could they do this in America or Europe and get away.
Is ther no Indian company that sees a business opportunity in taking over the service and running it - the subscription base of 4.5 lakhs should make it a good business prospect.
its plain cheating with India.India was giving the highest revenue to Worldspace and they stabbed us on our back.We should call the CEO to India and beat him black and blue.He has cheated India and its loyal listeners.
I had paid subscription upto 1st December, 2011 i.e. upto 2 years in the month of August, 2009. I have not received any email or any correspondence from World Space India in respect of termination of services.What about the refund due to the customers ? Why should Company accept subscription from the customers in advance for more than 1 or 2 years, as the Company or management (whether it is US (parent Co) or Indian Co) knowns the financial possion of the Company that they will not be able to provide services to the Indian Customers beyond say 6 months or 1 year. The bad news I came to know from 'Economic Times of India' that world space radio goes off from the air in the begining of the new year, but services were stopped from 31st December, 2009 itself. Even on 30th announcers were not announcing about stopping of services.

It was a good satelite radio and in our family and also everyone likes the music they were providing, full of entertainment and hope some INDIAN COMPANY can start like World Space Radio.

I request all the subscribers to come forward and join hands so that we can take some concrete action on this.
We gifted a world space radio with two years subscription to a relative as his wedding gift. I made the payment on 8th Dec. 2009. Never thought something like this will happen. It is palin cheating. We are so ashmed in front of our relatives. We paid money and got emberrasment in reaturn. We must do something.
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> FRAUD>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>...
We need to raise our voice, hope this site will be of help, we have lacs of other subscribers to post comment . I guess almost all would have renewed subscription by dec 2009 .
... FRAUD ...
I have same complaint to make against them, have filed complaint separately too in the same forum.My Subscription was valid till end of January 2010, company representative contacted me in November to deposit subscription for next year ie 2010. They literrally conned me saying that there is a scheme valid for only 3-4 days whereby if I deposit entire subscription now in advance i shall get 2 months subscription free. I had been patronising them since almost 4 years now and saw nothing fowl here. Now whole sub amt of 1800 and pending 1 months sub of rs 150 ie a total of Rs 1950 is litereally gone as they are no more taking any calls. There must be a lot of consumers like us who have not yet realised the what has happened to their subscription.
it is the same here. i have 2 receivers with 2 yrs. subscriptions in force . they have suddenly discontinued the service without intimation / refunds. i think they should be prosecuted for forgery.
Deeply shocked at the attitude shown by the world space radio.Just like most o[censored]s i too was coaxed into subscription renewal ritual. they never gave a slight indication about their fiscal health.Moreover, their conduct is unethical and deserves condemnation.
Is there no Indian company competent enough to resume this service for its citizens?

WORLD SPACE INDIA PVT. LTD.