[Resolved]  Fortis Hospital — Healthcare

Address:730, Eastern Metropolitan Bypass, Anandapur, East Kolkata Twp, Kolkata, West Bengal 700107

My father-in-law Mr. Aloke Nath Banerjee is admitted at your esteemed hospital since 22nd April 2023.
We wish to bring the following issues to your notice for the earliest redressal:
1. The patient was admitted with the complications of drowsiness under the Department. of Pulmonology. Problem was diagnosed and treatment was initiated. By 26th April we were informed that patient is responding well and there he is ok to be shifted from ICU to RCU. Probably due to unavailability of bed in RCU the shift delayed till 27th. Not sure whether ICU rates have been charged against applied for these days while wating for RCU bed, if it has been charged then we would ask for reversal as those days he was not needed to be in ICU.
2. In the intermediate bill we found some exorbitant charging against bedside procedure(s). e.g. Blood Sugar test by glucometer has been charged differently at different times. Moreover, Blood Sugar test has been done multiple times per day, this was also surprising as patient was never having any Blood Sugar issue. Different Investigations have also been charged exorbitantly. We are requesting an earliest review on the charges against this head so that unnecessary and exaggerated expenses are removed.
3. Also, we observed same set of doctors are visiting the patient multiple times in a day and every visit has been charged separately. If the doctors are not adept enough to handle the ailments of the patient and need to check multiple times in a day, patient party should not be charged for every visits. Please consider to minimize charges made against such visits.
4. It was informed that patient was good to be released from hospital on 4th May. But then his stay got extended by 2 extra days showing some reasons which are not acceptable, one of them was Doctor was waiting for a discussion with patient relatives, although somebody or other used to visit hospital and discuss with attending doctor everyday.
5. Huge amounts have been charged against various non-medical equipments used during the days of hospitalization, which also need a thorough review and a considerable reduction in this cost is expected.
We are utterly shocked at this absurd and unprofessional approach from such a reputed hospital. There is every reason to believe that your establishment is not capable enough to treat a patient and hence 2 weeks of hospitalization was required unnecessarily. Unfortunately, we been penalized for this inefficiency.
Considering all the above points, hope you will be judicious enough to limit the bill within INR 3 Lakhs (that we can afford) and thus oblige. Currently the bill is aproximately 6 lakhs.
Jun 21, 2024
Fortis Healthcare customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.
May 08, 2023
Fortis Healthcare Customer Care's response
Dear Abhijit,

This is certainly not the experience we want our patients to have! We sincerely regret the inconvenience that you have faced. Kindly email us your contact details at [protected]@fortishealthcare.com so that we can reach out to you to understand the concerns in detail.

Fortis Healthcare

Customer satisfaction rating Customer satisfaction rating is a complex algorithm that helps our users determine how good a company is at responding and resolving complaints by granting from 1 to 5 stars for each complaint and then ultimately combining them all for an overall score.
    64%
    Fortis Healthcare Phone
    +91 12 4492 1033
    +91 12 4492 1071
    +91 12 4492 1021
    Fortis Healthcare Address
    Tower A, Unitech Business Park, Block - F, South City 1, Sector - 41, Gurgaon, Haryana, India - 122001
    View all Fortis Healthcare contact information