Zerodha Complaints & Reviews

Updated: Oct 17, 2025
Complaints 538

File a complaint to Zerodha

Having problems with Zerodha?

File a complaint and get it resolved by Zerodha customer care. It’s quick, effective and absolutely free!

Zerodha reviews & complaints page 23

SunilKK70
Oct 27, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560046

Yesterday i placed a buy order of 'bank of baroda' @ inr 200.39 for 4000 shares, this was at 9.22 am in a few minutes time it went up to 405, i tried exiting the order when my profit was about 16000 inr, the zerodha system did not allow it to go through, i tried several times to exit but to no avail. To add insult to injury my stop loss was hit ending my transaction with a loss of more than inr 5000. Their customer care centre was not working either. I called them informing this they pointed out that they cannot bear the loss. It was a problem with nse they mentioned, i received 3 messages mentioning that there was a technical issue, i checked with nse they said their systems were fine. Seems that these # at zerodha are taking customers for a ride, ensuring that the customer does not make profit. Amazingly their stop loss always work fine, in addition anything near the stop loss target it reaches close to it and exits, but when we are approaching our profit target it does not execute it most of the time. The question is who is going to bear my loss? What if it were a bigger amount? Who responsible? These guys are just washing their hands off, i need my refund with the executed profit.
Zerodha customer support has been notified about the posted complaint.

Rishi Rajish P
    Oct 27, 2017

Address: Chennai, Tamil Nadu, 600117

My name is rishi and account id is zb8762. Fot the last few days i am not receiving any contract notes for the order executed. Yesterdsy (26th oct 2017) i have executed 3 orders and for some reference purpose i am waiting for the contract orders and also mailed to support team and no response from them tillw now. I dont know for jsut a contract note why this much dealy and no response from support team

Ramesh13M
      from Chirala, Andhra Pradesh
      Oct 27, 2017

Address: 505530

Hi sir
      My name ramesh
      Yesterday[protected] buy 100 shares in sbi at 9:20 morning cover order position but not shown pending order to exit position. That why entire day not exit the position i have loss around 1400 rupees. So kindly please refund/recover my money
      And afternoon (11:50 to 12) zerodha security short selling 100 shares (Sbi) in normal position my account.
      Customer id:zb4527

Sanjeev Ravadi
        Oct 27, 2017

Address: Bangalore Urban, Karnataka

I would like to report that i incurred 16k loss today due to a technical glitch that occurred with zerodha trading terminal where the sale orders got rejected consistently for 1 hour or so.

I happen to buy 900 shares of pnb today at rs223.10/- each and then immediately placed a sell order for more than 15 times while the stock was in uptrend but all of them got rejected due to the technical glitch on the trading terminal. By the time, they fixed the issue the stock started falling and as a result i couldn't exit at loss.

I then sent an email to zerodha support about this but no response. Moreover, their risk/compliance dept. Squared off my shares at rs 205.2/- which caused 16k loss.

As the loss that i incurred was due to the technical glitch on the broker's side, i would like a refund of the amount.

Kantha rao ravadi
        Zerodha id: zp0828

Sai J
          Oct 27, 2017

Address: 560078

It is zero in zerodha customer care. I mailed my power of attorney for trading shares in demat account. The courier reached the mail room.

The zerodha mail room does not process the mail correctly. Totally bad processing service. Their only response from customer service is "poa not received",

I couriered again the document. And again till date, my account is still not activated. Their customer care folks like mohsin, akshay, ezhil & deepti has stopped responding to my queries.

It is very slow and because of this i am unable to sell the stocks that i bought.

The support ticket is not updated for a week now. It is just humming idle with automated messages. #603933
          Oct 25, 2017
          Updated by Sai J
          I opened an account and they asked me to mail the poa through courier. They have held my ipo shares, saying that they have not received it.

My courier company has the signature of the mail room saying they received it.

We have mailed on oct 4th and has been received by oct 5th.

Till date (Oct 25th) they are claiming that they have not received and now zerodha support is saying that we should write the email address on the envelope.

The ticket id#603933.

Truly bad customer support.

Now i have been allowed ipo shares and it cannot be traded due to this issue.

jaypatel3086
            from Daman, Daman and Diu
            Oct 27, 2017

Address: 560076

On 26th october 17,
            I had placed a bracket order trade on pnb share with buy price of 223 and target of 5 points and stop-loss of 5 points at 9:30 pm. Which got accepted.
            There after i modified the sell order at 224 and then when the share price reached 224. (Positive trade to occur)
            Order got automatically cancelled.
            But the position was open in the kite system and i was unable to exit the trade position.
            And then i tried to contact on all support numbers. ([protected] and [protected].)
            But all the numbers were not reachable.
            Even i tried to call from different numbers to their support number.
            But they were unreachable.

I tried to call mr. Jagdish ([protected]) from my friends help, he denied to give any help saying that he is not my sales coordinator, your sales co ordinator will call you shortly.
            But non of them called back.

Then i got message on my kite desktop, that there were some issues related to nse orders. The same will get resolved in some time.
            After 30 mins i got message issue related to nse orders has been resolved.

I re-logged in my account.
            But my trade was showing pending and trade was going negative and i was helpless to do anything.

I kept on trying the support numbers. But they were still unreachable.

At 11:33 i got sms that your margin utilization has reached 124% of your balance. And it will be auto squared off.

Then i got pop up on my kite system (Desktop) that trade
            Is complete at sell of rs 206. (Loss trade)

My total margin got utilized 16.18k.

And it has result in 3582 negative balance.

I want my money back.
            As there was no fault of mine.
            It was kite system error that i was not able square off my trade when it was positive and after 2 hours, it got auto square off when trade went negative.

I got an sms from zerodha. 01:06 pm
            "if your sl and exit for bracket order were cancelled due to the nse connectivity issue today morning, it has been re-initiated. If you had taken a counter position using mis/cnc make sure to exit them."
            But trade is already auto existed.
            I am helpless.
            My margin is still negative.

I had mailed the same at [protected]@zerodha.com. Three times yesterday. But i got no response neither my ticket number is generated against my complaint to them.

Very very disappointed with zerodha.
            Please address and solve this issue and get my money refunded.

Zerodha
            Client id:zt3380

Nagesh5501
              Oct 27, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560040

Hi zerodha,

I have placed short order of 5000 shares of ashoyleyland at the average price of 128.05 and kept the stoploss at 129. My order dint get executed at my stoploss and even placed order was not showing in pending orders due to that i was not able to exit from the placed order. I tried calling customer support many times, call was getting disconnected and it was not reachable. So i raised complaint through online to zerodha support complaint num : #327047.

Due to this issue, my losses got extended around 4 times (16, 500rs) which was not in the control of me. If this is the case, think of your customers situation which could make them depressed & may lead to any bad decisions. As a zerodha customer, i would request zerodha to consider this as high priortity and resolve the issues asap.

As a zerodha customer, i would like to ask few questions :
              1) there was lot of inconsistency in zerodha messages, i received message saying technical glitch in nse, after sometime again i got the message saying "issue is resolved." even after issue got resolved, i was not seeing my order in pending orders, due to that i was not to able to exit.
              2) if the order is placed then stop loss also should also get placed and it must get triggered at stop loss price.
              3) if the order got cancelled due to technical glitch, why should customer bear the losses?
              4) i spoke to customer care on oct 27, 2017 morning regarding the issue, he is not able to address the issue and asked me to post the complaint in zerodha complaint portal.
              same situation with me, , ..please help me ..sir contact me nine seven six six five four one nine nine seven one [protected]..please sir helo

Goutham Giri
                Oct 27, 2017

Address: Hassan, Karnataka, 57

My client id is zb5640 and i have placed normal mis order for pnb selling order at mkt rs.224/- (54shares) at 9.30am on 26/10/2017 and i got message saying that my order was rejected "n" no. Of times. Because of that my order sold at 9.59am for rs.215.05/-. For your information i have incurred loss of (8.95x54)=rs483.3/-)

And the same story continued with sbin,

Where i placed selling order at mkt rs.335.5/- (9shares) at 9.44am and my order sold at 10.00am for rs.330.10/-. Resulting in loss of (5.4x9)=rs48.60/-)

Now i would like to ask you people, being a student i suffered loss of (483.3+48.60)=rs531.9/-) and who is going to bear the money for the fault which is not on my side. So i kindly request you to go through the screenshots attached for your reference and looking for the reimbursement of rs.531.9/

ashoksahu0123
                  Oct 27, 2017

Today on 26/10/2017 i bought dr reddy futures @2348 and fix limit stop loss in system @ 2332, trigger price 2333 and fix target @2370 in zerodha kite system. As per rule stop loss should executed between[protected], but my trade stop loss was executed @2333.50 which is completely wrong execution and after wrong execution it goes @2374 which was above my target price. By zerodha wrong execution my trade ended in 14.50 point loss instead 22 point profit. Zerodha should take action and should compensate my loss. My customer id zy 1699. For proof i saved trade screenshots which can be send to anyone.

Sahil827
                    Oct 26, 2017

Address: 147001

Yesterday i. E. On 26/10/2017, i got a message on my registered no. With zerodha on 03:02 pm to square off my mis positions before 3'o clock and plan my trades accordingly.. How anyone can plan trades before 3 pm on 03:02 pm.. Moreover i got no notification about this. I called today to zerodha customer care she says "we had a bulletin on zerodha.com website, u could check there". Now how can anybody expected to open zerodha.com website while trading on kite apple app. Even afterwards when i checked the bulletin no timing was shown there of this particular news only date (25/10/2017) is there.. If you check the price difference at which it got squared off automatically and the last price traded of ncc 110 call option is 10800 rs. This loss was incurred by me because of zerodha's technical irregularity. I can send a snapshot as a proof that i got so late message from zerodha. Please take the appropriate action regarding this matter. Following is the snapshot

Sahil goel
                    Client id - ps5210

Manjunath Revanna
                      Oct 26, 2017

Address: 560098

I had placed bracket order for pnb and stop loss was there in order book. The price was going down and i expected stop loss will get triggered and reduce my loss. But my stop loss order was cancelled and i didn’t had anything to do exit.

The loss continued and continued and resulted in 81000 loss.

Very disappointed with zerodha.
                      Please address and solve this.

Client id:zd9498

sntshptlsvp
                        Oct 26, 2017

Address: Osmanabad, Maharashtra, 413501

Same problem with me, here was some issue with zerodha's system and i was unable to place sell order on nse and hence incured a loss of 6116 rupees, please help me recover this loss which is solely caused due to inefficiency of zerodha's order executing system.

This happened because kite the trading terminal of zerodha was unable to accept trade orders on nse during the peak time of market hours and i was help less to do anything to save the losses incured.

I even tried calling the support terminal but it was constantly busy, even the sales manager was unable to help me with the orders... There was some issue with zerodha's system and i was unable to place sell order on nse and hence incured a loss of 6116 rupees, please help me recover this loss which is solely caused due to inefficiency of zerodha's order executing system.

This happened because kite the trading terminal of zerodha was unable to accept trade orders on nse during the peak time of market hours and i was help less to do anything to save the losses incured.

I even tried calling the support terminal but it was constantly busy, even the sales manager was unable to help me with the orders execution.
                        I had paid 500 RS for ac opening.. but I got msg from zerodha my details not matching..
                        But a am not able to present documents which you are required.. so please refund my money.

ravipd9099
                          Oct 26, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 500081

There was some issue with zerodha's system and i was unable to place sell order on nse and hence incured a loss of 6116 rupees, please help me recover this loss which is solely caused due to inefficiency of zerodha's order executing system.

I even tried calling the support terminal but it was constantly busy, even the sales manager was unable to help me with the orders execution.

Tried calling on both these numbers [protected]
                          [protected] but, it was constantly busy.

I have also attached the screenshot for the number of tries i did to place the order.

Kaustubh Pawar
                            from Morjim, Goa
                            Oct 26, 2017

I had brought sbin at 331.94 as cover order.
                            Due to technical problem i was not able to exit my position due to which i have almost lost 12000/- which zerodha has to return on priority basis. I had been trying to call the customer care from morning after 30-40 calls call got connected and the executive said we can't help as zerodha don't take any responsibility for technical problems. The technical problem was from zerodha as it clearly mentioned server not ready error for exit position. I want my complaint to resolve at the earliest
                            Customer id:zc0964
                            I was trading on 26/10/2017 in zerodha kite, I had shorted SRF with cover order at 1730.1. After some time my order was cancelled by zerodha so I was unable to exit my position then In the afternoon they themselve initiated the Normal order at 1755 hence got me into more loss. I am having loss of Rs.600/- due to zerodha. I want my refund.

Id: ZX6470
                            Prathmesh Maslekar
                            Even I'm a victim of yesterday's technical glitch with Zerodha which resulted in 16k loss. Interestingly, they placed a sell order on my behalf without even taking my consent. Really fed up of chasing them since yesterday.

loss due to technical glitch - Comment #2896792 - Image #0
                            loss due to technical glitch - Comment #2896792 - Image #1
                            loss due to technical glitch - Comment #2896792 - Image #2
                            did u get refund?
                            I also faced the same problem on 13 March and was unable to exit my co order position.let we all unite and pressurise Zerodha for our refund.
                            My email [protected]@gmail.com
                            yogesharora1989's reply, Mar 14, 2018
                            check ur mail

gaurav rohaj
                              from Kachhwa, Uttar Pradesh
                              Oct 26, 2017

My bo cancelled after buying stock. And self cancelled. I cannot sell stocks, as there is no order in orderbook. Help.. Loss is increasing.

Prasad ARN
                                Oct 24, 2017

Address: Bangalore, Karnataka, 560079

I did a foolish thing moving from icici to zerodha falling for their twenty rupee promise. Their systems and processes are extremely buggy and their customer service is third rate. I am surprised that sebi has not already banned them. Guess they have greased people in sebi to continue.

For a company that claims to be a startup with super artificial intelligence and what not, i have been asking them to tell me whether i have made money or lost money - dn3680 is my account number. Its been two months and they are bloody clueless. Their p&l and tax p&l reports are a piece of crap.

When i ask for escalation matrix so that i can talk to someone senior.. They dont provide. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I must have lost couple of lacs due to their low class work -
                                Oct 24, 2017
                                Updated by Prasad ARN
                                1749975 is the complaint number

Sisir Ranjan
                                  Oct 23, 2017

Address: 560068

There is a referral program in zerodha where if you refer somebody, you will get 10% of the brokerage that your referred friend is going to pay. They markets it very well. By knowing this i referred 2 of my friends who are into serious trading. I registered their name and mobile number into their respective website.

But they never got contacted by any of the zerodha executives.
                                  I made various complaints via call and email, but all gone in-vain.

They are very prompt for direct customers but when time comes for referrals they work like tortoise (If at all they work for referral).

To zerodha: if you are not comfortable with referral program, please stop marketing it and remove it from your website.

I have bee n using zerodha from last 3 years. Please don't lose the trust of your old customers.

Client id: ds4710
                                  Nov 27, 2017
                                  Oct 23, 2017
                                  Zerodha Customer Care's response

We're extremely sorry for the delay. A sales manager will get in touch with your referrals shortly and help them open an account.
                                  Respected Sir/Mam
                                  My id is zr7784. In open market why you check clients' account. As a result i can't understand the avg. cost, p&l, net change, days change . stocks which are bought for swing trading, are incomplete on dashboard. YOU CAN'T GIVE ME MY LOSS. I HOPE THESE PROBLEM WILL NOT BE 2ND TIME WITH ME. THANKS

K Gaurav
                                    Oct 20, 2017

Address: New Delhi, Delhi, 110044

Zerodha really wrost in terms on customer care. I credited 5000 in my zerodha account and upload proof. I do imps and was expecting to credit amount on zerodha account within 10 mins. But i transfer money on 12 oct 2017 and still today 20 oct amount is not credit to my account. I opened ticket on zerodha and try to call dozen of times, but zerodha even not reply on any of them. Their customer care number is their ad broadcast network. You will hold in wait everytime and you will listen unlimited ads. Only ads, they will never talk to you. So, i decided to take my money back and will not trade on zerodha anymore. They are wrost in terms of customer care.
                                    Avoid zerodha for your stock market transactions. Zerodha itself is problem more than a solution.
                                    Nov 23, 2017
                                    Oct 23, 2017
                                    Hi Gaurav,

We see that the funds were transferred from an unmapped bank account. Regulations dictate that funds transferred into a trading account have to necessarily come from a bank account that is already mapped to your trading account. Since the funds came from an unmapped account, there is no way for us to map your funds. Owing to the long weekend, the response to your ticket was delayed. We apologise for the inconvenience.
                                    i was trade today and i was face some technical issue, there is CO and i put trigger price lower value than trade value and order was cancelled..i loose my money, so what can be done??

Sunny@001
                                      from Pathankot, Punjab
                                      Oct 13, 2017

Address: Ludhiana, Punjab, 1335

My client i'd is ayz7947. Here i want to complain about your delay services. First of all you took about one month to open my account by giving reasons of registration of wrong mobile number etc and now when my account is finally opened your service support are not attending my calls. It has been 10 days i'm calling them that to about 4-5 times a day but they are not attending it. I had even called the person who opened my account and told him that i am having problem in funds transferring but. He said it's not of his business and i also requested him to ask support services to call me back still there is no response. It's so bad of you and now i want solution of my problem of funds transferring within 2 days. It's urgent so please take it under consideration.
                                      Nov 20, 2017
                                      Oct 16, 2017
                                      Hi. We're sorry to hear that. If your call wasn't answered, this would be because o[censored]nusually high call volume. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. We'll arrange for an executive to call you back and help you with the fund transfer.
                                      I opened demat account in zerodha for rs300. But i didnt complete my application. The customer care service is very poor so i dont want to take risk by doing trading in this ...i want refund my num [protected]

VIKAS KAPOOR huf
                                        from Jind, Haryana
                                        Oct 11, 2017

Address: Yamuna Nagar, Haryana, 135001

I submit the account opening document to zerodha team in 13-sep-2017 on 26-sep i also submit some unsigned documents.

Verification is done by zerodha on 26-sep and received the mail document and all other formalities is completed and user id and password is provided in 4-5 days.

But i did not received the user id and password till date. When i ask for the password they are saying that some document is still missing.

Very bad customer service, if account opening is tough like this, i fear about the trading experience.

Email [protected]@gmail.com